top of page

Beginning of the Conclusion.

With all the time to think and develop an idea for this semester's collection. I realized that I had too many plans for potential giant collections but I wanted something focused instead of a broader view. For this series, I plan to go back to my older collections. However, my approach is fine tuned and will have a new source. I'm hoping to find success in this series as the concept is something close to me and what has been a path of discovery and identity as a photographer.

 

1. Basic Structure

"By the end of this semester, I would like to produce 5-10 successful images"

My goal for this collection is to add to a growing film portfolio. I have photographed in digital for years and would like to develop a strong black and white film collection. For this series, I would like to start moderate sized(8x10) 35mm images and progress to large format photographs on a larger scale. This however is subject to change as I develop in experience and ultimately change my mind continuously while I work. The reason I want to work in film is because I find film to be more permanent and there is scarce room for mistakes except to apply trial and error to my prior photo knowledge.

A majority of my experience is in studio so I would like to use studio equipment for this series as well as in special locations. This is still subject to change however.

 

2. Concept Development

This collection is part of something personal to how I collect my surroundings. I approach my work in a "female" view. I process social norms and how everything outside of those social norms are almost(not quite) accepted. The social norms I have used include the definition of femininity, beauty, sexuality etc.

For this series, I would like to challenge the idea of "true beauty" and who defines this. How I plan to execute this is by counter arguing the idea that good makeup, weight or ageism define what "pretty" is.

I am curious about what happens when you remove the Photoshop and Lightroom process and photograph environmental portraiture in a pure format with minor editing to aid to the aesthetics giving the images more meaning.

 

3. Technical/Formal Challenge(S)

My goal for this series is to develop some good quality images that can be produced for shows or public viewing.

Film is a challenge for me as I cannot view images as quickly as digital. I would like to fine tune light metering as well as develop well processed negatives and prints. Given the fact that I plan to invest much in film this semester I would like to produce photographs that are sharp(if the photograph calls for sharpness), the contrast to be sufficient, and potential style elements to be processed well. One thing I have not processed too much is double exposures on film. I would like to gain more experience on this as I develop my skill with film.

A style element that fascinates me is motion. I want to work with a mixture of strobes and modeling lights to help control studio settings. Long exposures on film if captured correctly produce great photographs and I would like to incorporate this skill in my film work.

 

4. Professional Direction

I began to discover my "photographic identity" in my Fine Arts classes at Chaffey College. I began to develop through practice and life experience. What I have learned as a college student is that it is important to acknowledge how influential our professors are. Without those specific relationships, I feel that i would be lost and would still be questioning where I stand as a photographer.

As a profession I would like to be that influence to students like me who had no direction. I would like to be a professor as well as an artist in institutions such as Chaffey community College, or Cal State Long Beach and campuses alike. My short term goals here at CSULB would be to obtain my BFA and to ultimately find my way to receiving direction for an MFA in Photography. I would ultimately gain experience and work aside other's who teach in hopes of becoming a professor myself.

Aside from being a professor I would like to curate shows for other photographers who are in my common practice; and I would like to work with collections of historical photography archives(aka special collections) for museums. I would love to be able to work as an artist where I can develop work and refine my skill. I am currently gaining gallery experience by working with the University Art Museum and would like to work with other museums to gain more experience with accredited art.

The ultimate goal for me is to produce sufficient work for galleries and collectives. I know this is not an easy process but I plan to continuously work until I accomplish as much as I can.

*Sorry for using the word "I" alot...


My Blog Purpose
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page