top of page

Challenging

Meeting with Kyle, we began to speak about how the critique went and how constructive it was for me. During the critique, Kyle had mentioned something about my work that challenged me to look outside of "my style" he noticed one of my works was-the word used was-"Tautological".

Tautology is defined as the saying of the same thing twice in different words, generally considered to be a fault of style (e.g., they arrived one after the other in succession ). This can be seen as a Red sign that reads "RED" etc.

Since the critique, this had me thinking of what potential photographic process can work with a tautological style, or method. However, it wasn't until our meeting that we tried to reprocess how to represent this type of concept. I had to do my own research which I will mention soon.

But first...

As we continued our meeting, Kyle and I spoke of my initial approach and how that had some strengths and weaknesses, I still believe the thought process behind my work is good. I love working with beauty and standards even if it is executed in a different style. I'm totally down to experiment with work. I showed Kyle a previous style of work i did with experimentation and polarizing coordinates and working with sculptures. This seemed to fascinate Kyle more than what planned. He liked the idea that I began experimenting with sculpting and playing with the process.

This photograph was redeveloped in the editing process. It is done by solarizing and polarizing the image.

So, he suggested I work with that process of sculpting a photograph which sounded like a scary, but fun challenge. He suggested artists like Atta Kim who works with layers of photographs and multiple or long exposures to create a new photograph. I loved this idea of playing with light and shape to create something different outside of what is already there.

I showed him my work from that week which was me playing with the similar process but I applied it to my type of photographs which are working with body textures and shape.

Kyle understood the idea that I like working with those things and suggested I work outside of the human form and apply this vision of my outside world. I interpreted this as an eye for things that draw my eye in the world surrounding me. Things like cracks, crevices, I found a beauty in these things that go ignored or are seen as burdens. This is similar to how I see the human form.

To gather all that processed, As of right now I am constructing photographs and challenging formalism in work. With the process of sculpture I am applying processes such as multiple exposure to change the form of the original photograph.

One style i am currently practicing is the study of Bezier curves. Bezier curves work in a repetitive process to create a shape from one simple shape. The patterns develop a new photograph creating amorphous shapes. I also want to apply weaving into my work so i am going to experiment with exposing woven R/C paper in the dark room projector.

My biggest fear right now is not finding a cohesiveness in my work and all i have are these photographs that are done in different styles. What I'm looking forward to developing this process and not knowing the outcomes.

I've done some online research on the Bezier Curve and how i can apply it to photography, even looking at artists who have done this(which there is none) but i gathered some things that may help put visuals in your mind:

Here Are some straight forward Bezier Curves

These Are Examples of Sculpting and other methods using the Bezier Curve Method:


My Blog Purpose
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page