top of page

Working Post Critique

Its funny when you show your work and you have this special idea behind the work but its difficult to articulate your work and that completely misconstructs everything else. When we had our critique, I had a few keen observations:

1. My peers saw my work as "interesting", but not enough

Lets start with the fact that I started this class with this idea of how I like to shoot. I like to shoot the process behind beauty and standards. Which in hindsight has been done so many times in different ways. What makes my work stand out? thats the question of the century. However, I value this idea because of the fact that beauty is not static. Beauty standards change continuously and I believe that the standards for beauty are moving far away from superficial methods and veering into something more empowering.

2. The critique taught me that it is important to think about why I chose to do this series.

I initially started this series to challenge the viewer. When I heard Kyle speak, it helped enforce something that initially was not something I processed properly. Kyle said that "we as viewers are always going to have our own interpretation of an art piece". He said to never challenge the viewer because the series turns into something intended for the viewer.

Later, I spoke with Dan, a classmate who helped put this in a matter for me to connect with my own work aside from the relationship I have with beauty standards. He told me to turn this series into something personal which truly helped me much more than what I had initially processed. I truthfully want this to be something for myself and as a gift for others to enjoy, or not enjoy... either way I want to be at peace with this series and I am looking forward to be further challenged.

3. Speaking of Challenge...

After this critique I learned to develop a thinking process that is different from myself. I accepted the fact that Kyle encouraged us to continue working on different things not focusing on "my style" or "how i usually photograph". It's interesting knowing that you know you are a "type".I find it most fascinating when you try to rediscover yourself through experiment and that is where I am pointed to.


My Blog Purpose
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page