top of page

New Series, Who Dis?

Well, looks like it’s been a while since I've posted anything what-so-ever. Well, if there's one thing that’s certain it’s that I am one consistently inconsistent person. So, what’s new? Let me tell you!

This semester I have explored various approaches to my art.

The first new approach is printmaking. I am currently taking a printmaking class with Rob Brown, the nicest person in the printmaking world. He has so far taught our class screen-printing, etching, the "tradigital" process, and I am currently doing a Photolithographic print. This class has by far been the most strenuous because it's a new process and it’s very difficult to learn things when you have multiple projects coming your way. I do however, feel that this will come in handy in the future.

My second approach is working with materials. One class I'm taking by obligation of the College of the Arts educational plan is a Safe Practices class. Basically, this class is a wood shop class but we must study chemicals and materials based on student's individual art field. For me, since I'm a photographer, I did a study on darkroom materials and how bad they are for the environment. I stand with peace in my heart knowing that most our chemicals don't go into the water and into a biohazard tub located nearby. WE GOOD.

As of right now, we are assigned our final project. this project is based on something that we could find useful for our field. I'm working on a box to store my photograph. Originally it was a hinged door with a storage cabinet style furniture thing... I wouldn’t know what to call it... but my professor thought it would be too ambitious for me... so I reduced it to a 11x14 box. i honestly could go bigger... but now I'm too tired to make changes.

My third approach is experimental practices. Led by Brice Bischoff, I am collecting a new way to approach art. First practices consisted of manipulation. the manipulation processes included analog and digital. Manipulating an analog photograph consisted of darkroom exposure practices. I decided to solarize and make a negative photograph from a positive print. These studies were very okay but digital is always going to be my favorite approach. My first approach is me basically slapping my face in a scanner and making facial scanograms which i just loved. this process was so effortless and found myself loving this series.

For my next practice, I did sculpture. This was by far the most difficult as i was trying new chemicals. the chemicals I used were basically foreign land to me. I used resin coating and my project came out horrible. but we must learn from our mistakes.

As of right now, I am working on a series that plays with gender, the gaze, and objectification. In this series, I am attempting to utilize fruit in objectification approaches. What I want to happen is people assume gender yet confuse the idea of who is doing what. Is my mind objectifying the fruit? We shall see what happens.

Lastly, I have a final project that plays with process. In this case, I want to use my body and place photographs in restrooms, lockers etc. The idea is that people are allowed a marker which is placed next to the photograph. Placed in public spaces, the viewer can write absolutely anything they want on the photographs. This can be anything they desire: something nice, something mean, something sexual; whatever the mind can conceive. This is probably my most sensitive series as I have no idea what people will say. The idea i suppose is to play with the misrepresented person which is the woman of color who is socially marginalized. I don't have the most beautiful body according to social standards and for me to be happy, with this examination, i need to see what people say. This opens doors to conversations about cyber bullying, misrepresentation, and my favorite: hair. I have a body full of hair and I don't believe in removal of hair. So, there are many things that are opening with this process and in due time I am looking forward to seeing how this turns out. I'll keep writing as best as I can if even once a week.


My Blog Purpose
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page